0

Apple TV Keyboard Pop on TV every time?

I get a keyboard connected / disconnected message on my TV every time I go to use the remote with my Apple TV. Is there a way to disable this?

 

  

15replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Hi JesseTron thanks for sharing this! This is a limitation on Apple TV's side for the BLE integration. We are trying to find ways to get around this, we'll make sure to let you know as soon as we ave a solution.

    Like 1
      • Will
      • Will
      • 2 mths ago
      • 1
      • Reported - view

      Anne-Sophie F. Anne-Sophie F. Yes, this was my next question as well. Please include me in notifications of when this is resolved. Thanks again!

      Like 1
    • Will sure, we'll do!

      Like
  • Ok. Thank you.

    Like
  • How about just let me disable the keyboard function entirely until you figure it out? I would rather not have a keyboard than see this pop up every time I use the remote! I was planning to return the remote for this exact reason until I was told it would be fixed in a future release — making it sound like you had a fix and would release it soon. Now the truth that you actually have no idea how to fix it. I guess it’s because your battery is so weak you have to disconnect after 10 seconds to keep the remote from dying.

    Like
      • Bolu OSevenhugs
      • Customer Care
      • Moboluwaji_Okupe
      • 2 mths ago
      • Reported - view

      Kirby Miller Hi Kirby, apologies on our part for this inconvenience, we are definitely still working on a way to resolve this and hope to have a fix in place very soon. We will keep you updated.

      Like
  • Any fixes to this keyboard alert issue. I just purchased the remote but keep getting the keyboard alert.  Very annoying.  Unfortunately will return remote if no resolve is available.  Like the remote but alert is super annoying.  Plz help. 

    Like
  • I agree...I don't plan on returning the remote - even with this annoyance - it's the best I've found. But, yes, just being able to disable the "keyboard" function, would be a HUGE help. Thanks!

    Like
    • Will Nick we are sorry, for this, we are trying to figure this out but we don't have any news yet on this. Thanks a lot for your patience, we'll keep you updated!

      Like
      • Will
      • Will
      • 1 mth ago
      • Reported - view

      Anne-Sophie F. Is it possible to simply stop the keyboard from coming up on the remote when the remote is turned sideways?? So annoying. 

      Like
      • Will
      • Will
      • 1 mth ago
      • Reported - view

      Will 

      Like
    • Will 

      Sure you can do this in the settings menu by locking the orientation.

      Like 1
      • Will
      • Will
      • 1 mth ago
      • 1
      • Reported - view

      Will Never mind. Just found the “Orientation Lock” under SETTINGS. 

      That helps!

      Like 1
  • why can't you keep the bluetooth connection to the AppleTV with something like a 30 minute timeout, and just turn off the remote's screen / display after 10 seconds? I can't imagine the bluetooth staying connected with the screen off would really drain the battery. My Apple remote stays connected for whatever its timeout is and I only had to charge it a couple times per year. I doubt the bluetooth connection is the cause of battery drain. Seems like it's more about the remote's lcd screen, right? So why disconnect the bluetooth every 10 seconds? ...Just turn off the screen.

     

    I already have to charge the remote every two days, so if it means charging every day instead that's fine. I just want it to work. And besides the connect / disconnect message it's also usually not registering the first key press after waking up which is as annoying as the message pop ups, maybe more. Keeping the bluetooth connected would be much better than just getting rid of the connection messages. Thanks!

    Like
    • Kirby Miller  
      Thank you for your feedback.

       

      The Apple remote do disconnect after a dozen of minutes, but your Apple TV will not notify you, it will only notify you at the reconnection; you will see a pop up with "remote connected".

       

      Keeping the connection for 30 minutes will still annoy you: for example, if you watch a movie, it will pop up after 30 minutes instead of after 1min...

       

      Keeping the connection all the time is something we taught about. But we preferred to make sure that the battery will last more than one day as the battery life was one of the most wanted features.

       

      Don't hesitate to create a feature request for this, if there are a lot of customers interested in this, we must reconsider our decision.

      I hope that this answers your questions.

      Like
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 15Replies
  • 120Views
  • 8 Following

Still have questions?

Send us an email and we'll help out. Contact us